Press Release from RPSL

The Royal Philatelic Society London is pleased to announce the recipients of its medals for 2021. Each medal is awarded for an outstanding presentation given to the Society, or article published in its world-renowned magazine, The London Philatelist, during 2019 and 2020.

The Tapling Medal for the best article in The London Philatelist has been awarded to Keith R. Klugman FRPSL for ‘Natal: Use of 1857 Embossed Stamps’.

The award for the best afternoon display, the Tilleard Medal, goes to Colin Hoffman RDPSA, FRPSL for ‘Rhodesia 1890-1924’.

The Lee Medal for the best presentation has been awarded to Mark Schwartz FRPSL for ‘Boston Postal History of the War of Independence’.

Throughout the period from March 2020 the Society has naturally been unable to hold its normal meetings. However, it has continued to provide its members with a full programme of presentations online. These have been so extremely popular that they will continue when normal meetings resume. With a worldwide membership, such presentations can be enjoyed by all members, especially those unable personally to visit the Society’s premises at 15 Abchurch Lane in the City of London.

As a result a new award has been created for the best digital presentation, the first winner of which is Cheryl Ganz RDP, FRPSL for ‘Zeppelin LZ-129 Hindenburg’s On Board Post Office’.

Those who have provided exceptional services to the Society are recognised each year by the London Medal. The recipients in 2021 are: Gwynn Harries FRPSL for his work in the Society’s library; Michael Pitt-Payne FRPSL who has been the main Society photographer for more than fifteen years; Nigel Gooch FRPSL for facilitating major donations to the ‘Tomorrow’s Royal’ appeal, created to ensure the Society’s position as the world’s leading philatelic society.

Avatar photo

Written by Héloïse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>